Secular Franciscan Way of the Cross – 12th Station – Jesus Dies on the Cross

Tango7174, CC BY-SA 3.0 , via Wikimedia Commons

12th Station – Jesus dies on the cross

M: We love you, O Lord

A: Because by your Holy Cross, and resurrection You have redeemed the world.

M: The Twelfth Station – Jesus is nailed to the Cross.

“ It was now about the sixth hour and, with the sun eclipsed , a darkness came over the whole land until the ninth hour. The veil of the Temple was torn right down the middle ; and when Jesus had cried out in a loud voice he said “ Father , into your hands I commend my spirit” With these words be breathed his last. “ ( Luke 23:44-46 )

A: Help us Lord, to fully live our vocation.

Reflection:

Have I nailed my vocation to the cross, and left it there for others to watch it die ?

Have I given up on my vocation having allowed it to be sourced , mocked and pierced by the thorns of this world ?

Do view my own community as preparing to breathe its last ?

Do I commend my vocation to God as something worthy to be offered ?

Do I allow my vocation to call out to the Father in a loud voice through my Franciscan life ?

Leave a comment