Wait On The Lord … .


I believe I shall see the Lord’s goodness

in the land of the living.

Wait for the LORD, take courage;

be stouthearted, wait for the LORD”

(Psalm 27:13-14 )

On my daily path to work I take the city bus for part of the trip and walk the remainder of the trip in order to get a little extra exercise in for the day. One day, while I was heading off to work , the weather had taken a sudden dip in temperature and it was chilly outside.. I could see my breath as I walked to my bus stop and I thought to myself, well… maybe I won’t walk today because it’s a bit chilly and that lazy human side of me likes to be warm and comfortable.

Any way, the bus came and we arrived at the first transfer station, and the driver got off the bus and went and socialized with some of the other drivers. Their conversation ran on and we eventually were late in departing the transfer station. Some of the passengers who were on their way to work were restless and began to complain.

I tend not to worry about such things for a few reasons. First, the time I spend on the bus ( usually about 2 hours) is spent in prayer, usually the Liturgy of the Hours, and general prayer time. Secondly, because it is another part of my poor human conditioning, that I simply can not stand to be late for things, so leave the house in order to arrive at work approximately an hour plus before work begins.
( allowing for the other part of that human condition which is to feed my daily caffeine requirement)

I digress… In due time, the driver returns and gets in and we continue on our journey. As it turns out, we were approximately 5-10 minutes from our destination at the second transfer station, and the traffic is halted by a train, which appeared to be coupling and uncoupling cars , going back and forth in front of the roadway which was barred by gates.

The driver then became upset at waiting for the train, and decided to circumvent the process by turning the bus around and attempted to take some side streets to drive around the train. The only problem with that idea, was that by the time we had reached the street that would have allowed us to pass, the train had by then caught up to us and then down went the gates, the bells, the train whistle, and there we were stuck waiting for the train again.

The driver spent the next 10 minutes in the wailing and bemoaning the fact that this train was in the way and how it just was not right that this train should have been in the way etc. It was just terrible that this bus was there. The train then passed. We continued on our journey, There was apparently another bus driver who had the same idea, since there was also another bus in front of us. We finally reached the main road, the other bus entered onto the road but by the time we reached the intersection, the light had turned and again, we were waiting. There were gasps to be heard all through the bus.

The driver appeared to be new, because as we approached the transfer center, she missed one entrance and drove the circumference of the station and finally pulled in. By the time we finally reached the destination at the final transfer station, the connection that we would have made, had left and people were understandably unhappy, and then that too left me with a decision. I was early enough that I could have stood around at the transfer station and waited for the next bus to show up, or I could take my morning walk and get there a bit earlier.

I spend these walks in the morning also in prayer, because it takes me some time to walk to the office it is the perfect amount of time for me to pray the Franciscan Crown Rosary and have a little time for mediation..

So, I decided to walk… Since the time change, it is typically dark when I begin my walks now. until the Earths rotation brings the daybreak near the end of the walk, and I can see things apart from the street lamps.. and then finally….. I can see the birds that are singing, and the flowers.. and just before I reach the office, ,there is a pasture where there are some horses that are in the distance grazing….

In life, we go through these passages, these events, these trials that may be difficult to deal with. We have challenges that cause us to examine where we are, or what we are doing. At times, trying to see our way through them may be difficult. Unexpected challenges come up, and even at times when we try to find ways around them we find more challenges ! It can be very frustrating and exasperating even.

Just like the walk that starts in darkness, and challenges, will end , and at the end, through the eyes of faith we will be able to see the goodness of the Lord !!

May God give you the gift of His peace !

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Wait On The Lord … .”

  1. Allison Hinde Says:

    I have had that happen since I ride the bus. But I have also learned that if I get off the Bus and walk, it will take me less time. Reminds a bit of following Gods plan doesn’t it?

    • brbearsfo Says:

      Indeed it does ! In fact, I have had the same experience and often find that I am rewarded with some new vision of creation or some new insight in the process !
      Thank you for your comment !

Leave a Reply

