On Seeing What is Before Us….

 

“At present we see indistinctly, as in a mirror, but then face to face. At present I know partially; then I shall know fully, as I am fully known ” ( 1 Corinthians 13:12 )

I grew up in a little town in Delaware.(USA ). There were numerous wonderful things are this place.

One of those was the Bombay Hook, National Wildlife refuge. Now, as a young adult, I really did not know much about it, or appreciate all of its beauty or uniqueness. All I really knew was that it was a great place that was out in the woods, in nature, where I could go, and clear my head, think, and try to sort out the problems of the day.

Later on, I had a friend, who used to ask if I wanted to go out there and visit the refuge. Initially, if I was wrestling with some problem, I might share that with him and he might offer some insight, or just sympathize. He began pointing out different birds, and tell me something about them.

Many years ago I became a bit of a shutterbug. I bought an old used 35 mm camera from a pawn shop, that I had NO clue how to use. However, I purchased film at a small photography shop in a little town in central and began my adventures in photography. I brought in my first full roll of film and

since I was excited to see how they turned out, I opened them right there in the store. The young lady behind the counter, made a couple of comments about what I might consider changing in my pictures or in my process, that would make my pictures better.

I asked her about her experiences in photography and she shared that she had a recent degree in art that was centered around photography and that she had a similar experience, where she bought a used camera, and started taking pictures and got help from the stores owner to help improve her skills.

I asked if she would be willing to help me in that process and help me to improve my skills, to which she agreed.

I went back to the wildlife refuge, and found myself seeing so much more of what was right there in front of me. Different birds, plants, and animals that I might have seen but had not appreciated or even paid attention to them because of the fact that I was there to try and clear the noise that was either in front of me, or in my head. I began to appreciate each bird, each animal, each plant, and found myself trying to see the uniqueness of creation, finding it through the lens of a camera, and through time in research into what I did not know.

I hung on that old camera. and eventually it was stolen. I did without that camera, but in the meantime the digital age came about. I received a camera as a gift one year for Christmas. The learning started anew. I began taking walks around my neighborhood, and started taking pictures of things that I saw that reflected God’s beauty either in creation or man made.

The picture in this post was taken at a bus transfer station. I had to a little way away from the driveway to take the picture, but seeing the beauty of the pasture struck me and I wanted to try to capture it. As I am sure that some of you also like to take pictures, I am sure you can appreciate that circumstances in trying to capture a particular image is not always idea.

Just like my trips to the wildlife refuge, sometimes it is difficult to see God because of all those obstructions that get in the way. We have to find ways to maneuver our way around those obstacles, or remove them from keeps us from seeing God in our daily lives.

Just like my trips to the wildlife refuge, sometimes we need a guide to be able to see what is directly in front of us. A brother or sister who has already traveled that road, and then we can see those obstructions, or possibly they help us to see God, and we find the obstructions for ourselves. What we see dimly at first, will be revealed , what we may only know partially, like my initial trips to the refuge, become clear, our vision of the beauty of Gods glory will be revealed as long as we make the effort to take the journey to see it.

May God give you the gift of His peace !

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

