The Holy Spirit Comes

Peace be with you Brothers and Sisters,

Here is the reading from todays Gospel :

Jesus said to his disciples:

“Now I am going to the one who sent me,

and not one of you asks me, ‘Where are you going?’

But because I told you this, grief has filled your hearts.

But I tell you the truth, it is better for you that I go.

For if I do not go, the Advocate will not come to you.

But if I go, I will send him to you.

And when he comes he will convict the world

in regard to sin and righteousness and condemnation:

sin, because they do not believe in me;

righteousness, because I am going to the Father

and you will no longer see me;

condemnation, because the ruler of this world has been condemned.” 

Jesus said to his disciples:

“Now I am going to the one who sent me,

and not one of you asks me, ‘Where are you going?’

But because I told you this, grief has filled your hearts.

But I tell you the truth, it is better for you that I go.

For if I do not go, the Advocate will not come to you.

But if I go, I will send him to you.

And when he comes he will convict the world

in regard to sin and righteousness and condemnation:

sin, because they do not believe in me;

righteousness, because I am going to the Father

and you will no longer see me;

This reading brings an interesting balance for us but also is a point of great joy !  

Not only is this the telling of the descent of the Holy Spirit  sent to be out comfort and guide, but it is also something that should give us great comfort at the physical loss of our loved ones.   For our brothers and sisters leave our phyiscal presence, and hopefully have gone to join the communion of Saints.  

In this communion they can join in pleading for us, and praying for us in heaven as they did for us on earth. Even more so, because they have passed through the veil of life into eternal life.     To the Glory of God has the spirit come to change the world.  For those who are very much in tune to the leadings of the Spirit, there are great works to be done, sometimes set in motion by the smallest of kindness and love.  Sometimes it is by the example we lead to show others the depth of the love we have for others.  

I saw a video not long about about a youth group out in California that was going out into the urban areas that were economically depressed and holding up signs that said ” Free Hugs for Christ”   and they were out and about just giving people hugs who might have wanted or needed them.  I think that is an awesome idea.   I am positive that those kids probably saved a life that day or maybe just made someone elses burden easier. 

One of the greatest things that we can do is to share our love with others.   Caring for our biological families.. ” even sinners do that”. caring for others… that is the mark.  

Many years ago while I was changing careers, I worked for a time selling stadium seats to the  public and to businesses.  While I was working there I was dumb struck at the amount of money that flowed into that place.  Ordinary people paying thousands of dollars just to watch a football game.   Corporations spending billions and billions of dollars for the sake of entertaining clients and their top executives.   The only thing I could think about was the fact that here we were spending all of this money during an economic slump and supposedly there was no money to feed the poor, to house or clothe them.   Or to take care of their medical needs, was just not possible.

So the question we need to ask ourselves is this….. Is it morally right, for us to have so much, in order that others do not ?   

 

Leave a Reply

