We are His..

Happy All Souls Day !

Today is the day that we set aside to remember those who have gone before us.  Those we have lost who were close to us and those who might not have been close to us, but all those who sleep in Christ.

This mornings Gospel reads as follows :

Jn 6:37-40

Jesus said to the crowds:
“Everything that the Father gives me will come to me,
and I will not reject anyone who comes to me,
because I came down from heaven not to do my own will
but the will of the one who sent me.
And this is the will of the one who sent me,
that I should not lose anything of what he gave me,
but that I should raise it on the last day.
For this is the will of my Father,
that everyone who sees the Son and believes in him
may have eternal life,
and I shall raise him on the last day.”

The readings from day are not  just some empty words, these are real confirmation and they instill not only hope but a reassurance that God will not abandon us !  Jesus says that which the Father gave to him he will not abandon, and he will save all who believe in him.   You can’t ask for a better guarantee than that.

Everyone experiences loss in a different way.  Some are very stoic others are very dramatic pouring out their emotions.    I sort of like the New Orleans version of a funeral.. they enter the church in a rather somber and respectful manner, then after the mass is over, there is a joyous celebration, because that person has gone to be with Christ.

If you have someone who has passed from this life, then celebrate their life.  Thank God for the gift of that persons life with us.   Remember in all things to thank God for gifts he has given us.  Particularly the people in our lives.

I have seen my own share of death and have been present for a number peoples journeys from this life to the next.  It is a very profound moment.   In a very real sense it is a priviledge to have been there to pray with a person in their final moments on this side of the veil.

When my own father passed away, our pastor said something that struck a chord with me.  It is comforting to know, that those who prayed for us on this side, is now praying for us with Jesus.   They have joined the communion of saints.

Amen.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

