My Father, The Man, The Musician, The Servant.

For those who have been following this blog, you have most likely noted a gap in my postings.  The reason for this gap was the passing of my father from this life, to join in the Communion of Saints.   It has taken me a while to get to the point where I was ready to write, but this is somthing that speaks volumes about him.

Todays Responsorial Psalm is Psalm 40 and in part verses 8 and 9.  It reads as follows :

In the written scroll it is prescribed for me,
To do your will, O my God, is my delight,
and your law is within my heart!”

This short little portion of the Psalms says alot about how my father lived his life.    He was a man of great faith and deep convictions.    In many ways my father and his sister, were like Saint Francis and Saint Clare.    He left his family farm to gain a perspective of the world, while my aunt stayed at home and cared for my grandmother.  My father very active, my aunt very contemplative.   Both of them prayed constantly.    My fathers love of music took him around the world.  My aunt stayed in the convent of their home praying for us all.    My father shared his gift with all who asked.    I read a story one man posted on the internet, when this man was a boy his parents could not afford either a horn or lessons.  My father bought him a horn to use, and gave him lessons after school.

My father used his gifts, as a prayer, as a channel for his faith.   He was totally transparent in his faith life both on and off stage.   A good deal of my fathers performance time was spent in churches as he loved to play to the Glory and Honor of God.      My father, taught me a great deal about my faith life.   As he made mistakes, as he struggled, he was constant in his faith, in his love of God.    He never gave up in his efforts to keep us in church, and to share parts of his faith experiences.     In childhood many things were a mystery, and I walked a wide path of faith.   In my adult life, I got to share that faith with him.

My father spent the last 35 years of his life being a Eucharistic Minister and, a little less time, being a lector in his parish.   He wanted to serve God, and the people of God as much as he could.  For many years he went to the local Hospital, and when he could no longer walk those floors he contented himself with just serving the people of the parish who were home bound.   There was one lady I met at his funeral who told me that my father had served her family for 30 years.  Going to their houses when her mother, her father, and then her husband all had become homebound and eventually went to be with God.

My father was a very well known musician, and teacher, the world knew him that way…  As for me, he was just Dad, who filled those other roles away from home.     He took pleasure from the simple things in life.  Listening and playing great music, the love of Family and friends, the appreciation of God’s creation, and the taste of the one single  bourbon he had every night right after work with a handfull of peanuts or chips.

In all things he would echo this Psalm…. In the written scroll it is prescribed for me,
To do your will, O my God, is my delight,
and your law is within my heart!”

Eternal rest grant unto him O Lord, and may the souls of the faithful departed through the mercy of God rest in peace.

Amen !

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

