For John’s Sake ?

This mornings office, beings us a laundry list of behaviors for us to review and internalize in our daily walk in the world.   It reads as follows :

Ephesians 4:29-32

“Guard against foul talk; let your words be for the improvement of others, as occasion offers, and do good to your listeners, otherwise you will only be grieving the Holy Spirit of God who has marked you with his seal for you to be set free when the day comes. Never have grudges against others, or lose your temper, or raise your voice to anybody, or call each other names, or allow any sort of spitefulness. Be friends with one another, and kind, forgiving each other as readily as God forgave you in Christ.”

I don’t know about all of you, but some of these things were certainly a struggle in my younger days, its something I work on to keep the tongue and temperment in check in difficult situations.

My father has always been a pillar of strength and example for me of faith and practice.   I can count on one hand the number of times I heard him raise his voice in anger or frustration.    Considering who he had for sons… that in itself should merit cannonization !    I was gifted with a mixture of temperments.  My mothers when I was younger, and my fathers as I age.

On the occasion when my father would get frustrated beyond his testing, he would say ” Oh, for John’s sake !”…    During the course of my growing years ( I am still growing), It is common to hear the expression ” For Pete’s Sake” which I imagine to be a shortened version of , “For Peter’s Sake”.  There does not exist , at least from my searching  a definitive explaination, however, what appears most probable, is that  during the 18th Century, ” For Christ/God’s sake” was a popular use of explative.  Switching your favorite saint in the process was a manner of exasperation without using the Lords name in vein. So ends your etymological lesson for the day 🙂

There are people in our lives who seem not to struggle with other people or other situations, like water off a ducks back.   Then there are the rest of us.   I believe that in truth these can be a blessing to us.  God knows how it is that we deal with different situations before we do, he gives us challenges and tests to see how we will react.  These situations can be learning tools for us if we open our hearts and our minds during our examination of conscience at night.  How did we do today, where did we fail ? How can we do things differently?

Do not forget to pray !  Pray for patience, for peace, for both yourself AND the other person.  It is important that we pray for our brothers and sisters even those who bring us crosses.

I pray that you have a beautiful day full of peace and full of love, that which you give and receive !

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

